We started the night off brilliantly with a fantastic win to the Year 7/8 boys. It was team 4 (us) against team number 1, St Mary’s. We didn’t start off so well and probably struggled behind St Mary’s for most of the game.
We lost Hayden Maripa early in the third quarter with five fouls so the other boys just had to step up and try and win us the game. Finally, in the last quarter we hit the front and then it became a game of them in front us in front.
We finally hit the front with 1 minute to go but were starting to get into foul trouble so we just steadied the game down and luckily for use we held the ball and came away with a brilliant win of 35 to 32 which was the same margin Mary’s beat us in for the quarter finals that almost cost us a place in the finals at all.
Player of the Final went to Exauce Muteba.
The Year 9/10 boys also played out of their skins for a fantastic win against Toowoomba State High School. They actually beat us in the game rounds by 10 points but the boys played so well as a team they ended up winning 45 to 25 points. Everyone had a hand in putting points on the board, and they led each quarter from the beginning to the end.
Everyone in the team played superbly and Mr Cook was very proud of his boys. Nick Nugent was awarded player of the final.
With both boys winning their finals we were also named Championship Boys Schools for the Year and this makes the wins extra special. Our name for the first time ever is on this Trophy.
The Open Girls came up against a strong team from Pittsworth to showed great composure to out play us and take the final 50 to 35. It’s not that we played badly they just played slightly better than us. We put plenty of shots up but they just didn’t drop this week.
The girls did not give up at any stage and should be congratulated for a wonderful season where they technically only lost one game out of eight.
Many thanks to the big crowd we had on the night and to the parents, coaches and teachers who supported the whole competition.
A very big thank you to Nick Nugent, Rei Owen, Jorja Bolton and Miss Bolton who refereed for us throughout the season. Their efforts are gratefully appreciated.